Skip to content



College of Humanities  
255 S Central Campus Dr., Rm. 2100
Salt Lake City UT, 84112

Contact phone number (main office): 


The College of Humanities has 7 departments (Communication, English, History, Linguistics, Philosophy, World Languages & Cultures, and Writing & Rhetoric) conducting research on enduring topics at the heart of civilization. It boasts one of the oldest communication departments in the world (founded in 1892), a top-ranked creative writing program home to multiple Guggenheim Fellows, two Title VI Centers in Asian Studies and Latin America Studies, and the nationally-recognized Tanner Humanities Center. Faculty are highly productive; a sizable share of the books published by the University of Utah originate from the College of Humanities. The college has established an international reputation in creative writing, health communication, public understanding of science, innovative language education, environmental humanities, and cutting-edge research in bioethics and the philosophy of science.

Mission Statement: The College of Humanities advances civilization by cultivating deeper understanding of human communication, thought, and culture. 

Last Updated: 7/15/21