University Research Committee (URC)

Application and Proposal Guidelines for:

  • Faculty Scholarly and Creative Research Grants
  • Faculty Fellow Awards
  • Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Awards

Faculty Research and Creative Grant Program

Faculty are eligible to apply for modest grants for specific scholarly or creative research project if they hold at least 50% FTE appointment. A faculty member may request money for equipment, supplies, travel, hourly wages for assistants, consultant fees, and miscellaneous other uses as approved by the Research Committee. The purpose of these awards is to support significant scholarly and creative projects, particularly in fields where extramural funding is difficult to obtain. Preferences will be given to projects that impact the long-term scholarly and creative mission of the University of Utah.

There will be three submission cycles per year (based on the availability of funding) with deadlines at the close of business (5:00 p.m.) on August 20, November 15, and March 1 of each year. If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, applications are due on the first workday following. Applicants submitting proposals for the August cycle will be informed of the committee's recommendations early November. Applicants submitting proposal for the November 15 cycle will be informed of the committee's recommendations at the end of January. Applicants submitting proposals for the February 15 cycle will be informed of the committee's recommendations at the end of April. The maximum grant is $6,000. Proposal size is limited to no more than three pages plus a one-page bibliography, a cover page, a budget page, and a three-page curriculum vita or biographical sketch.

 

URC Faculty Fellow Awards

These Awards are available to tenure track faculty in all disciplines to provide a semester of release time on full salary for scholarly pursuits of research or creative projects. The University Research Committee awards the sum of $7,500 to the department to defer the cost of the awardee’s release time. Release time can be taken no earlier than fall semester of the next academic year and must be taken within 2 years from the date of the award. Applicants may also apply for a Faculty Research or Creative Grant to carry out their research/creative agenda during their release time. Applications are due in the applicant’s departmental office by October 2. Department chairs must forward the applications to their dean by October 16. Deans must forward the applications to the Vice President for Research office at 210 Park Building by 5:00 p.m., October 23.

 

Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Awards

No more than three awards are given each year to outstanding tenure track faculty members from all disciplines who have distinguished themselves and the University through research or creative effort. The recipient receives public recognition plus a $10,000 grant to be used at his or her discretion. To be considered, a faculty member is nominated for the award by a colleague, his/her department, or college. Nominations are due in the Vice President for Research Office, 210 Park Building, by 5:00 p.m., October 15.

 

Committee Members

Sarah Hinners

Member College
Architecture + Planning

Email
sarah.hinners@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2017-2018

Zac Imel

Member College
Education

Email
zeimel@gmail.com

Year to Roll Off
2017-2018

Steven Lobell

Member College
Social and Behavioral Science

Email
steven.lobell@poli-sci.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2017-2018

Pamela Mathy

Member College
Health

Email
pamela.mathy@hsc.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2017-2018

Sara Yeo

Member College
Humanities

Email
sara.yeo@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2017-2018

Hanseup Kim

Member College
Engineering

Email
hanseup@ece.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2018-2019

James Lehning

Member College
Humanities

Email
jim.lehning@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2018-2019

John McLennan

Member College
Engineering

Email
jmclennan@egi.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2018-2019

Satoshi Minoshima

Member College
Medicine

Email
sminoshima@hsc.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2018-2019

Melonie Murray

Member College
Fine Arts

Email
melonie.murray@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2018-2019

Joanne Yaffe

Member College
Social Work

Email
joanne.yaffe@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

Isabel Dulfano

Member College
Humanities

Email
id2@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

Clifford Rosky

Member College
Law

Email
clifford.rosky@law.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

Rima Ajlouni

Member College
Architecture + Planning

Email
ajlouni@arch.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

Shu Jiang

Member College
Engineering

Email
sjiang@egi.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

W. Shane Wallace

Member College
Libraries

Email
shane.wallace@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

Elissa Ozanne

Member College
Medicine

Email
elissa.ozanne@hsc.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
2019-2020

Andrew Weyrich

Member College

Email
andy.weyrich@utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
Ex officio

Teresa Molina

Member College
University Neighborhood Partners

Email
teresa.molina@partners.utah.edu

Year to Roll Off
Standing

Questions?

Please contact VPRgrants@utah.edu with any questions on Faculty Research and Creative Grant Projects, or you may also contact Joanne Yaffe (801-581-4829), Chair of the URC Committee.

Last Updated: 10/6/17